Co-Pilot Seat Heater, Exhaust Stud Re-Torquing, Brake Pipe Fittings, Rear Oxygen Outlet, and Armrest Electronics

I started the day by moving some things to the new hangar at the Aurora Airport – that’s right, we are now leasing a hangar! While the plane isn’t quite ready to head off to the airport yet, I was able to find a great hangar that was too good to pass up. I was able to negotiate a little free rent for a period of time and for now I am slowly moving things to the hangar that won’t be needed here at the house. So things like the landing gear fairings and of course a refreshment refrigerator are already waiting for us.

After getting some things moved and renting the local Piper Arrow to take some friends to go see Mt. St Helens, I spent a little more time on the plane itself. I had come across some information from Vetterman exhaust that states their recommended torque for the exhaust tubes to the engine was too low in their documentation. So I corrected my manual and re-torqued and sealed the studs. The manual states 140-170 inch/pounds and Vetterman states 170-180 is correct (http://www.vansairforce.com/community/showthread.php?t=89671&highlight=exhaust+torque).

Next up was another area of going back and correcting something. Based on research on issues with pipe fittings and use of fuel lube allowing fluids to leak, I decided I was going to go back and redo my brake line pipe fittings and use a better sealant. So I redid all the fittings in the pedal cylinders and the parking brake assembly and used Loctite 567 as the brake caliper manufacturer recommended for their system.

I then moved back to the seats and finished running the seat heater for the co-pilot seat using the same method I used on the pilot side. Of course it was much faster the second time around.

It was such a nice day out that I decided to do some more painting. So I sanded the rear baggage bulkhead covers to smooth out the primer I had previously shot. I then painted the darker beige on the rear seatbelt anchors and the baggage covers.

Next up was getting the Mountain High Oxygen outlet for the rear passengers mounted. I decided previously to place this in the side panel as it was the most logical from wiring and aesthetics. So traced out the shape on the inside of the panel and used the dremel tool to cut out the shape in the panel. It took a few slight expansions to get the shape just right. Once the port fit through, I took some of my Click-Bond threaded standoffs and aligned with the mount for the oxygen outlet. I used some temporary screws to ensure the standoffs were correctly aligned as the epoxy cured.

As the epoxy was curing, I turned to the center armrest insert and proceeded to wire it up. I installed the DC power outlet (cigarette lighter style port) and placed a 2 port USB style charger in the inside of it. I then wired in the two LEMO style ports for the headsets to plug into and receive ships power to drive their Active Noise Cancelling headsets. We are going to be using all Bose ANR headsets and most of them have already been purchased. We are using Bose A20 sets in the front and the previous model Bose X in the rear – all LEMO/Ships powered style.

Once the epoxy on the click bond parts was cured, I removed the temporary supports used to hold the standoffs as they cure. I cleaned up the edge slightly to ensure the oxygen port would fit in the opening still and then installed another set of standoffs as they were too close together to set all four at once.

 

About Mark B Cooper

Mark B. Cooper, President of PKI Solutions, is a former Microsoft Senior Engineer and subject matter expert for Microsoft Active Directory Certificate Services (ADCS). Known as “The PKI Guy” at Microsoft for 10 years, he traveled around the world supporting PKI environments for Microsoft’s largest customers. He focused on supporting security solutions for Fortune 500 companies and acted as their Trusted Advisor in all things related to PKI. He has worked with customers in the Financial, Manufacturing, Technology, Transportation, and Energy sectors as well as many levels of state and federal governments. Upon leaving Microsoft, Mark founded PKI Solutions and now focuses on providing PKI consulting services to select companies.
This entry was posted in Aerosport Products, Baggage Compartment, Brakes, Center Armrest, Control Approach Rudder Pedals, Electrical, Electronics, Engine, Exhaust, Finish Kit, Firewall Forward, Interior, Mountain High Oxygen, Oregon Aero, Seat Belt Planet, Seatbelts, Seats, Vans RV10 Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment