ADS-B Antenna Doubler, Tail Wire Runs, Baggage Bulkhead, Oxygen Lines and Tail Scat Tubes

I started the day by cleaning the ADS-B antenna doubler and then applying some anti-oxidant paste to the surface and clecoing it in place. I am going to have to find some help to rivet the doubler in place, so I went ahead and drilled and blind riveted the flanges of the doubler to the sides of the bottom pan.

I took the opportunity to do some house keeping in the tail. I ran a coax cable back to the ADS-B antenna and also silicon taped all the locations that get zip tied to a stand-off. While I was at it, I relocated some of the standoffs as they were on the center stiffener and I was concerned that a slack rudder cable could get tangled. So I drilled out the rivets and placed the standoffs for the cabling closer to the edges of the tail. I also installed some standoffs to allow cabling to be run from one side of the tail to the other side just behind the battery box mount.

I took a few minutes and finished trimming the rear baggage bulkhead covers. The lower large cover needed to be slightly trimmed on the right side where it interefered with the Aerosport Products side panel. I also removed the plastic bushing since I am not going to use the stock shoulder belt mount point in the tail. I trimmed the upper cover to fit around the oxygen refill port and cut out where it interferes with the top center console. I deburred and scuffed both parts in preparation for paint.

I also got started on running the oxygen lines for the Mountain High Oxygen system. Each occupant needs to have two lines run to it. One primary line is electronically driven as a pulse demand system, and the second line is a smaller line and is used as backup if the primary fails. I ran the larger 6mm tube up the left side and in the side panel I split it and ran one hose to the center tunnel and up through the tunnel cover. The other part of the split went back to the side panels near the rear passengers. I then ran the backup line up the right side and split it and routed to the rear passengers and the center tunnel for the front passengers. I need to get some larger snap bushings so I can route the oxygen lines behind the rear passenger kick plates as well as leave room for the flap motor wiring.

I removed the front passenger oxygen outlets and attached a primary and secondary splitter to the bottom of the mount plate. I then made up some short tube lengths and connected each outlet to both the primary and secondary splitter. I put the outlets back into the armrest and verified the oxygen lines can connect to the splitters through the tunnel cover hole I made.

To ensure I was planning the tail cone layout and wiring appropriately, I connected up the scat tube for the rear air vents. I tightened the clamps on the side airvents as well as installed some bug screening. I left it loose on the NACA vent controller from Aerosport Products as it will come out during the riveting of this cover skin. I also temporarily ran the scat tube from the controller to the bulkhead holes to the overhead console.

When I ran my scat tubing, I ran two 3/4″ tubes down each side, one of which is pretty much taken just by the battery master cable. But I am already seeing how space is going to be tight. I haven’t ran all the wiring to the tail yet and I have already filled 2.5 of the hoses already. Hopefully it will all work out!

About Mark B Cooper

Mark B. Cooper, President of PKI Solutions, is a former Microsoft Senior Engineer and subject matter expert for Microsoft Active Directory Certificate Services (ADCS). Known as “The PKI Guy” at Microsoft for 10 years, he traveled around the world supporting PKI environments for Microsoft’s largest customers. He focused on supporting security solutions for Fortune 500 companies and acted as their Trusted Advisor in all things related to PKI. He has worked with customers in the Financial, Manufacturing, Technology, Transportation, and Energy sectors as well as many levels of state and federal governments. Upon leaving Microsoft, Mark founded PKI Solutions and now focuses on providing PKI consulting services to select companies.
This entry was posted in ADS-B, Aerosport Products, Antennas, Baggage Compartment, Electrical, Mountain High Oxygen, Navworx, Static System, Vans RV10 Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment