Battery, Anodizing, Visor Nuts and Seat Day!

Today was a short day. I finally ordered my Odyssey PC925L battery which is a popular battery for this model. It came and I easily set it in the battery tray. I will need to make up a piece to fill the void as the battery takes up a little less space than the stock one (in this position). I also ordered some “stud adapters” from odyssey. These convert the Metric6 screw for mounting cables to the battery to a more common 5/16″ used in aircraft. That way I can use normal cable lugs and if I have to swap the battery out, it will fit standard terminals.

I also got all my parts back from Leadtek who was anodizing them. The parts originally went just for the seatbelt and extension arm, but since it was under the minimum order I figured I’d have some of the landing gear mounts and brake assemblies down as well to help with corrosion. In the picture you can see that the axle nuts and the solid standoffs didn’t coat for some reason, something about their material composition that kept it from working.

I got the seatbelt guides bolted onto the seatbacks and they are a thing of beauty. I am quite happy with them. Once they were all torqued up, Tricia and I drove over to OregonAero to have them do the upholstery. We are asking them to do some unique things with these seats, but if they can pull it off, they should be trophy pieces! They are a local company in Scappose and actually make seats for airplanes around the world. In fact they make the frame itself for all the RV10s that get sold. After meeting with them and the upholsterers that will be doing our seats, I believe they can do this. We should get the seats back at the end of June as they are very busy over there right now.

I spent some time on the Rosen Visor potted nuts I installed on the last working day. The right side was easy, I just removed the stickers and used some goo-gone to remove the residue. The left side required some sanding of the epoxy over the accident holes and took a dab of thickened epoxy to fill the holes. I also did an initial sanding of the epoxy. So I will need to sand and patch/paint the area to get it to match.

About Mark B Cooper

Mark B. Cooper, President of PKI Solutions, is a former Microsoft Senior Engineer and subject matter expert for Microsoft Active Directory Certificate Services (ADCS). Known as “The PKI Guy” at Microsoft for 10 years, he traveled around the world supporting PKI environments for Microsoft’s largest customers. He focused on supporting security solutions for Fortune 500 companies and acted as their Trusted Advisor in all things related to PKI. He has worked with customers in the Financial, Manufacturing, Technology, Transportation, and Energy sectors as well as many levels of state and federal governments. Upon leaving Microsoft, Mark founded PKI Solutions and now focuses on providing PKI consulting services to select companies.
This entry was posted in Electrical, Finish Kit, Oregon Aero, Rosen Visor, Seatbelts, Seats, Uncategorized, Vans RV10 Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment