A Working Door?? Yes!

So, after yesterday head scratching day that resulted in stopping early to regroup, the time away really helped to think this through. There are a lot of parts that are involved in getting the doors to work well. I really go things work by doing some research on the issues I was having. The door would move 1/4 – 1/2″ forward and aft as the latch was rotated and the pins entered the door jam blocks. I found out this was because the plastic guide blocks in the door itself really need to be close to the blocks in the door jams. This centers the door and keeps it from moving during the use of the latch. So I redrilled the blocks. The holes are enlongated, but I will fix that with some epoxy when the doors are closed up.

Next I got the rear jam block in place by leaving it loose and allowing the pin itself center the block when it moved through it. I then tightened the nut from the back side with a wrench and needle nose pliers (to hold the torx screw). I also added a small amount of lubricant to the jam blocks and that helped a lot. They will get some grease on final assembly.

Once that was done, I tested the door. As you can see in the pictures, the door closes to within 1/4″ of the opening on it’s own. Rotating the latch to close the door does not require any inward force – the pins and center latch do there job.

Once I did a little dance of joy and my faith in building was restored, I moved onto tweaking the door more. Never leaving good enough alone, I took the door off and began working on a lock. I had some flush style locks to fit in the doors. Normally people use these with some of the nice aftermarket EXTERIOR handles, but they really dont work the way I would like. So I did some triming and found it fit nicely between the gear racks in the door pocket. So I cut the door open a little and expoxied in the first piece of the lock assembly. Once this is dry, I will drill the hole for the lock and put the lock in place and it’s mechanism. This will provide a nice locking system for the stock door latch and will be closed up when it’s all done being put together.

About Mark B Cooper

Mark B. Cooper, President of PKI Solutions, is a former Microsoft Senior Engineer and subject matter expert for Microsoft Active Directory Certificate Services (ADCS). Known as “The PKI Guy” at Microsoft for 10 years, he traveled around the world supporting PKI environments for Microsoft’s largest customers. He focused on supporting security solutions for Fortune 500 companies and acted as their Trusted Advisor in all things related to PKI. He has worked with customers in the Financial, Manufacturing, Technology, Transportation, and Energy sectors as well as many levels of state and federal governments. Upon leaving Microsoft, Mark founded PKI Solutions and now focuses on providing PKI consulting services to select companies.
This entry was posted in Cabin Doors, Door Latches, Finish Kit, Flush Door Latch, Vans RV10 Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment