Canopy Interior – You Guessed it, More Sanding!

Today was another day of sanding. At least its becoming habit and a little less unfamiliar each time. Today was more sanding of the canopy interior and the contours are really starting to develop the way I want them to. It’s clear I am going to have to “sculpt” them more before I can lay down the primer and paint, but its getting ever so closer each day.

Aside from the usual sanding and re-epoxying, I was able to get the aluminum reinforcement piece that spans from side to side of the rear of the canopy prepped. This will help secure the rivets when the canopy is installed and the rivets are set. I had previously match drilled this to the top, but it needed to be deburred. I expoxied it into place to hold it for installation later on. The main reason I put it on now was so I could epoxy/seal the trailing edge of the overhead console completely. I will need to drill through a few locations and clean up some of the epoxy that seeped through the holes, but should be pretty minor work.

I also got a call from Superior Metal Finishes here in town, my door hinges are done (already!) I took them in yesterday to be nickel coated. The stock parts are bare steel and will rust over time, so this will help prevent corrosion and “spiffy” them up a little. They won’t readily be seen as they are on the top of the plane, but still needed to be done to prevent rust. They did a great job, I just wish I had spent some time to “clean” up the exposed surfaces so that they were a little less pot marked, but again, no one will really see them.

 

About Mark B Cooper

Mark B. Cooper, President of PKI Solutions, is a former Microsoft Senior Engineer and subject matter expert for Microsoft Active Directory Certificate Services (ADCS). Known as “The PKI Guy” at Microsoft for 10 years, he traveled around the world supporting PKI environments for Microsoft’s largest customers. He focused on supporting security solutions for Fortune 500 companies and acted as their Trusted Advisor in all things related to PKI. He has worked with customers in the Financial, Manufacturing, Technology, Transportation, and Energy sectors as well as many levels of state and federal governments. Upon leaving Microsoft, Mark founded PKI Solutions and now focuses on providing PKI consulting services to select companies.
This entry was posted in Aerosport Products, Cabin Doors, Canopy Cover, Finish Kit, Vans RV10 Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment