Canopy Sanding and Primer

Today there was actually a slight twist to the usual work of late on the interior. After letting the last layer of filler cure, I sanded as usual and checked the countour to see if they were what I was looking for. While not perfect, I don’t think the items I see will be noticeable in the final aircraft. So after giving all the areas a good sanding, I vacuum and wiped down the hole interior with tack clothes and MEK to clean the surface.

I then used some 2K High Build Primer from NAPA (FP415, FH416) which is a two part epoxy primer. It took quite a bit of work to get the contents all mixed up in the FP415 as all the acetone had seperated from the solids. Once it was mixed thoroughly, I combined the two parts of the primer epoxy (4-1 ratio) and used a roller to cover the canopy interior.

This primer will cure to a hard texture and will get sanded like the fiberglass. After rolling on the primer I could see areas that were much better than I expected (transition to the overhead console and strut brackets) and other areas that had a lot of small holes that are going to need to be filled (the armpit area of the front posts I filled). So once this cures, I will sand it all smooth, fill any holes with epoxy and then reprime and sand and check again until I have a surface ready for paint.

I painted the entire interior, even though the aft area will have a head liner. This will at least prevent any of the mold pink from showing up in the future. I also primed the window edge as I will paint the interior rim of the window and the edge itself black to match the rubber window treatment when its installed. So luckily I dont need to do any additional sanding rear of the aft door post except the overhead console.

About Mark B Cooper

Mark B. Cooper, President of PKI Solutions, is a former Microsoft Senior Engineer and subject matter expert for Microsoft Active Directory Certificate Services (ADCS). Known as “The PKI Guy” at Microsoft for 10 years, he traveled around the world supporting PKI environments for Microsoft’s largest customers. He focused on supporting security solutions for Fortune 500 companies and acted as their Trusted Advisor in all things related to PKI. He has worked with customers in the Financial, Manufacturing, Technology, Transportation, and Energy sectors as well as many levels of state and federal governments. Upon leaving Microsoft, Mark founded PKI Solutions and now focuses on providing PKI consulting services to select companies.
This entry was posted in Aerosport Products, Canopy Cover, Finish Kit, Primer, Vans RV10 Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment