A New Best – 178 Knots

I am now sitting at about 25 hours of flight testing out of a required 40 hours due to my engine/propeller combination I am using. The testing is getting to be more about minor nuances and less about major items to address. I just started my electronic chart subscriptions for the instruments and scheduled my official FAA inspection for the equipment to be IFR legal (Static, Pitot, Transponder). This is in anticipation of completing my 40 hours of flight testing soon.

Yesterday while the weather was questionable, I was able to get a couple of hours in by flying back and forth between Aurora and Eugene below the weather. It was a good run as I was nearing the 25 hour mark when I needed to change my oil. So that will be the task for today.

The other day I also had my be true airspeed (TAS) to date. I had been average around 170 Knots, which is about 195MPH. My goal was to get over 200MPH on average. After some more minor tweaks I was up to 178 Knots TAS. This puts me at 205MPH. I am hopeful that after the body work associated with paint, the plane will be more streamline and should be able to easily maintain that speed. In the picture below you’ll see that with a slight tailwind I was flying along at 230MPH ground speed – not too bad eh?

 

IMG_1004

About Mark B Cooper

Mark B. Cooper, President of PKI Solutions, is a former Microsoft Senior Engineer and subject matter expert for Microsoft Active Directory Certificate Services (ADCS). Known as “The PKI Guy” at Microsoft for 10 years, he traveled around the world supporting PKI environments for Microsoft’s largest customers. He focused on supporting security solutions for Fortune 500 companies and acted as their Trusted Advisor in all things related to PKI. He has worked with customers in the Financial, Manufacturing, Technology, Transportation, and Energy sectors as well as many levels of state and federal governments. Upon leaving Microsoft, Mark founded PKI Solutions and now focuses on providing PKI consulting services to select companies.
This entry was posted in Phase 1 Flight Testing, Vans RV10 Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment