Interior Trim Pieces, Stick Grips, Firewall sealant, Cowling Shims

Today I decided to shift gears slightly because of a break in the weather and I wanted to try to capitalize on some parts that needed some painting. So I started with making up some interior trim pieces. The first piece I made up is to provide an accent piece to the forward pilot and co-pilot side panels. I am using the Aerosport Products panels and there is a nice recess that could use some decoration. So I used some 3/32″ Polycarbonit plastic and laid it out on the back of the panel to be able to trace out the recess shape. I cut the rough shape on the band saw and then cleaned up with the belt sander. I created another one for the opposite side panel and then sanded and beveled the edges to create a natural break for the part. These will get Hydro-Dipped to place an automotive style burl wood veneer and shine to the parts.

Taking advantage of the break in the weather, I sanded the Aerosport Products center console pieces that had already been pinhole filled a few weeks ago. I sanded and cleaned them for paint. I also grabbed the two side panels that will cover up the belly panels on each side of the fuselage, scuffed then and primed them at the same time. Luckily 10 minutes after the second coat the rain started but the parts were already dry so there was no issue. Everything was brought back inside and I will wait for the next break in the weather to finish them up.

I decided it was time to install the co-pilot side side-panel since all the wiring is complete. I trimmed the panel to fit around the instrument panel and found it easy to install especially since the control stick isn’t installed yet. I used a piece of the left over window trim from the AeroSport Products overhead console to trim out the panel where it interfaces with the instrument panel (not pictured).

As previously reported, I continued finishing the stick grips and applied another coat of Tung Oil. I am now using a lint free cloth to buff rather than steel wool to leave a small glossy finish with a natural feel. Soon it will be time to wire these up.

I crawled under the panel (again!) and took the opportunity to apply some Fire Barrier 2000 to the seam between the upper console and the firewall. This will prevent CO and other exhaust and gases from entering the cabin.

In preparation for installing the window I traced the approximate position that the window fairing will be built up to. I am also considering if I am going to spray paint the interior side black to hide any of the fiberglass work on the other side. Some people add black tint to the fiberglass when it is installed, but I am concerned about voids and gaps that would still be visible.

Lastly I made up the last of the firewall shims that line the interior of the firewall flanges and are used to offset the Skybolt fasteners I am going to use to secure the cowling to the firewall – rather than stock hinges. The stock instructions leave a few breaks in the shims and I wanted to make sure there was a consistent shim all the way around.

WP_20121220_004 WP_20121220_005 WP_20121220_006 WP_20121221_001 WP_20121221_003 WP_20121221_007 WP_20121221_008 WP_20121221_011 WP_20121221_012 WP_20121221_014

About Mark B Cooper

Mark B. Cooper, President of PKI Solutions, is a former Microsoft Senior Engineer and subject matter expert for Microsoft Active Directory Certificate Services (ADCS). Known as “The PKI Guy” at Microsoft for 10 years, he traveled around the world supporting PKI environments for Microsoft’s largest customers. He focused on supporting security solutions for Fortune 500 companies and acted as their Trusted Advisor in all things related to PKI. He has worked with customers in the Financial, Manufacturing, Technology, Transportation, and Energy sectors as well as many levels of state and federal governments. Upon leaving Microsoft, Mark founded PKI Solutions and now focuses on providing PKI consulting services to select companies.
This entry was posted in Access Covers and Floor Pans, Aerosport Products, Cowling, Custom Aircraft Grips, Finish Kit, Interior, Paint, Primer, Skybolt Fasteners, Vans RV10 Project, Windshield. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment