Radio stack Rack and Wood Veneer Trial

Today I focused on getting the radio stack mounted to its rails and secured to the instrument panel. I positioned the mounting cages for the GTN 750 and the PAR-100EX together and positioned it in the instrument panel cut out. I then positioned some 1″ angle from Home Depot on both sides of the cages and clamped into place. I match drilled the cage mounting holes into the rails and drilled holes to mount the rails themselves. I then added nutplates to the rails and shot them with primer.

Next up I wanted to test how our wood veneer was going to work in the plane. Originally I had thought about using real wood veneer, but the difficulties in getting it to confirm to complex shapes and the finishing aspect was more than I thought I could handle. So I turned to automotive grade wood veneer. I ordered it from MetroRestyling.com and choose a 3M Vinyl veneer product. It’s a pre-finished, self-adhesive vinyl that is heat shrunken and pressed into place. It is shown to easily conform to complex shapes.

So I grabbed our rear seat cup holder I had made out of wood for the rear seat. I then applied the vinyl and inserted the cup holders. It really looks great and the wife gives it a big thumbs up. So looks like we will be good to go with this in the places we have talked about.

 

About Mark B Cooper

Mark B. Cooper, President of PKI Solutions, is a former Microsoft Senior Engineer and subject matter expert for Microsoft Active Directory Certificate Services (ADCS). Known as “The PKI Guy” at Microsoft for 10 years, he traveled around the world supporting PKI environments for Microsoft’s largest customers. He focused on supporting security solutions for Fortune 500 companies and acted as their Trusted Advisor in all things related to PKI. He has worked with customers in the Financial, Manufacturing, Technology, Transportation, and Energy sectors as well as many levels of state and federal governments. Upon leaving Microsoft, Mark founded PKI Solutions and now focuses on providing PKI consulting services to select companies.
This entry was posted in Aerosport Products, Avionics, Garmin, Instrument Panel, Interior, PS Engineering, Seats, Vans RV10 Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment