Door Latch Completion, Locks and Struts

While the doors are far from done, I was able to get the right door latch mechanism in place. It definitely went faster than the left door since I knew what to look for. I was also able to mount the door blocks (in jam and the door itself) and knowing the geometry issues, it was a lot easier to get everything lined up. I got the right door mounted back on the canopy and it works nicely now.

I then started working on a lock for the doors. I had original planned to use some flush mounted locks near the latch handle. But the fiberglass is too thick here and the geometry of the flush mounting blocks wont work. So I will fill the hole I made with epoxy and use a different approach to install the lock.

This time I moved towards the rear of the door. I figure it will be easier to reach to lock and unlock the door before even getting up on the wing. So farther back is probably a good idea. I cut a hole in the door above the pin/bar that actuates the rear pin in the canopy. I then attached a standoff on top of the bar and located the hole for my lock. I drilled the lock hole and then made some reinforcing plates to stiffing the skin and provide some anti-rotation protection for the lock mechanism. Once I verified it was all working, I epoxied the reinforcements in place and let it dry. I need to repeated this for the right door next.

I then moved onto drilling the holes in the canopy that will hold the gas strut bracket. This bracket supports the strut that will hold the door in the open position for entry/exit. I got the holes drilled. I then found out the aftermarket struct brackets I am using from PlaneAround.com are slightly redesigned and don’t have the room to allow my 3rd party gas strut to fit properly. I am checking with Sean at PlaneAround for his ideas. If he doesn’t have one, I might see about having them machined locally to fit better.

 

 

About Mark B Cooper

Mark B. Cooper, President of PKI Solutions, is a former Microsoft Senior Engineer and subject matter expert for Microsoft Active Directory Certificate Services (ADCS). Known as “The PKI Guy” at Microsoft for 10 years, he traveled around the world supporting PKI environments for Microsoft’s largest customers. He focused on supporting security solutions for Fortune 500 companies and acted as their Trusted Advisor in all things related to PKI. He has worked with customers in the Financial, Manufacturing, Technology, Transportation, and Energy sectors as well as many levels of state and federal governments. Upon leaving Microsoft, Mark founded PKI Solutions and now focuses on providing PKI consulting services to select companies.
This entry was posted in Cabin Doors, Door Latches, Door Locks, Finish Kit, Vans RV10 Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment