The Factory is Open Once Again

Now that we are back from Peru, it’s time to get back into the swing of things. I did find it hard to go away and not have the opportunity to work on building the plane each day, but it was also nice to have a small break.

Yesterday I was fighting a combination of jet lag and possible Peru-Itis from something I ate/drank at the end of my trip. Still not 100%, but today is much better than yesterday when I was glued to the couch.

Today I was able to make a new craddle for the Fuel tank as the supplied one is made out of cardboard and barely made it a day or two on the first tank. So I made a new one out of scrap wood. I got all the ribs installed, the rear baffle as well as the fuel cap ring, the vent clip and my fuel tank level indicator (which was made at the same time as the other tank to make sure they were the same length).

Sorry, no pictures today, but tomorrow I will have some as I continue the wing prep. It’s a little daunting knowing how much work goes into sealing up the tank, but I am looking forward to being finished with both tanks.

I did examine my first tank and saw that all the sealant has cured as I expected while I was gone. I didn’t install the capacitive fuel level detectors (senders) as the stickers on them indicated they may be the wrong model. I hooked up my DC-12V power supply and confirmed they are indeed the wrong parts. So I have to wait for the company to open after memorial day and get new ones sent to me. So it will be a few weeks I suspect before I can truly test the tanks to make sure they are air/fuel tight.

About Mark B Cooper

Mark B. Cooper, President of PKI Solutions, is a former Microsoft Senior Engineer and subject matter expert for Microsoft Active Directory Certificate Services (ADCS). Known as “The PKI Guy” at Microsoft for 10 years, he traveled around the world supporting PKI environments for Microsoft’s largest customers. He focused on supporting security solutions for Fortune 500 companies and acted as their Trusted Advisor in all things related to PKI. He has worked with customers in the Financial, Manufacturing, Technology, Transportation, and Energy sectors as well as many levels of state and federal governments. Upon leaving Microsoft, Mark founded PKI Solutions and now focuses on providing PKI consulting services to select companies.
This entry was posted in Fuel Tanks, Vans RV10 Project, Wing Kit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment